Busy can Blind

Recently we got to get away up to Payson, AZ for a little family retreat. One day we went with some friends to a local state park: the Tonto Natural Bridge State Park. This is absolutely a beautiful creation – tucked away and missed by many. You can take a rough trail down and explore under the waterfall and back into the cave. I marveled again at God’s beauty that he so often seems to tuck away off the beaten paths.

While hiking and looking around you realize that this was hidden for many years until someone suddenly found it. And to note the story, David Gowan found it while on the run.

So much of our life is on the run. We live on the run, driven along by busy schedules.

Now, being busy isn’t necessarily bad. I’m not advocating a couch potato lifestyle, but maybe simply reminding us that as you’re on the run, remember:

Don’t miss the beauty along the way.

I was struck and reminded: don’t let the busy blind you to the beauty along the way. Often God tucks it away, hides it a bit and you’ll miss it if you’re not continually trying to attune and pay attention for it.

I don’t want to miss the beauty God provides in the moments, situations and relationships he’s put around me, because the “running” has got me blinded. I desire for you to see the beauty going on around you too!

Q) is there something recently that has struck you – a beauty that has captured your heart again in the midst of the busy?

4 thoughts on “Busy can Blind

  1. Good reminder Jack. I’ve noticed my laptop/phone/et is kind of a shield that keeps me from enjoying God’s presence. Last night I was emailing, looked up at a lamp and thought, “wow that’s really beautiful!”. We’ve had it for years.

    1. I think that’s the tension in the “digital age” isn’t it? Not a problem to solve, but a tension to manage (as another great leader Andy Stanley) has said.

Leave a comment